Get Microsoft Copilot to be your Christmas Quiz host


I like to do a Christmas quiz each year with my family. The problem with that is that I never actually get to play the quiz myself. This year, I thought I’d sprinkle a little LLM magic and use GPT4 to be my quiz host instead!

I just gave it a quick test and thought I’d share it here so you can have a try to over the festive period. I’d also love to know if you have used AI for any interactive games?

Christmas Copilot

I decided to use the Bing Chat to run my quiz. This is because it’s free to use GPT4 (the latest and greatest LLM from OpenAI) and it can also search the live web and generate images with DALL-E 3.

Note: Bing Chat and Microsoft Copilot are the same thing at the “free” level, there are just different ways to access them. If you use a work or school account then you get the added security of the conversation happening within the security boundary of your existing Microsoft 365 tenant

Run your quiz

To get started go to bing.com/chat.

For the 1st prompt tell the chat what you want them to be and what you want them to do. Remember, the more detail you put in the prompt, the more accurate the results will be.

💡 Tip: Use Shift+Enter to start a new line in the chat box

Me:
I want you to be a quiz host.
The theme of the quiz is Christmas trivia.
Tell me 15 questions based on the theme. Pause after each question and I will tell you when to ask the next one.
At the end of all the questions you can reveal the answers

Bing:
Alright, I will be your quiz host for Christmas trivia. I have prepared five questions based on the theme. Let’s begin!

Question 1: Which popular Christmas beverage is also called “milk punch”?1

Me:
next question please

Bing:
Question 2: What animated 2004 film is based on a 1957 children’s book by Chris Van Allsburg?

Me:
next question please

And so on. At the end Bing will either prompt you or you can ask for the answers

Me:
final question please

Bing:
Question 5: What is the name of the reindeer that has a red nose?

That was the last question. Do you want to know the answers?

Me:
Yes

Bing:

Okay, here are the answers to the Christmas trivia quiz:

Answer 1: The popular Christmas beverage that is also called “milk punch” is eggnog. Eggnog is a drink made with milk, cream, sugar, whipped egg whites, and egg yolks, and often spiked with rum, brandy, or whiskey.

Answer 2: The animated 2004 film that is based on a 1957 children’s book by Chris Van Allsburg is The Polar Express. The film tells the story of a young boy who boards a magical train on Christmas Eve and embarks on a journey to the North Pole.

….

I hope you enjoyed the quiz. How did you do? 😊

The great thing about Bing Chat is that it remembers the whole conversation, so you can use more vague questions as it already knows the context. I thought it would be fun to get it to do some art with the powerful DALLE-3 integration. I love the results but it still struggles a bit with text (although much better than DALLE-2). If I wanted I could have tried a few more modification prompts and it’s likely to get it right. However, as this is my Copilot and not trying to replace me, I can simply edit any of the pictures myself.

Me:
can you design a poster for my quiz please

Bing:
Sure, I can design a poster for your quiz. I’ll try to create that.

Further Ideas

I was thinking of how to carry this on a bit further – what are your ideas? Perhaps when I’ve figured out the quiz winner I can ask Bing to create a congratulatory song for the person to the tune of jingle bells! If I had a bit more time to prep, I would probably try actually putting the people’s names into the prompt so Bing could ask them each a question – that might be a good idea if we need a tie-breaker.

Conclusion

I have saved my prompts to notepad so I can quickly copy and paste them in during the main event. I’ll plug my laptop into my TV so I can present it to all all the people in my front room but this would work just as well virtually.

I’m now all ready for when my family come to visit and this certainly saved me a lot of time of a busy period!

 🎄Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to all my readers 🎄

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.